Sylvia Plath

Sylvia Plath in 1957

Sylvia Plath in 1957

Sylvia Plath (17 October 1932 – 11 February 1963) was born in Boston, Massachusetts. She married fellow poet Ted Hughes in 1956; they lived together in the United States and then England, and had two children, Frieda and Nicholas. Plath is best known as a poet for her two published collections, The Colossus and Other Poems and Ariel. She also wrote The Bell Jar, a semi-autobiographical novel published shortly before her suicide in 1963. She had suffered from depression for most of her adult life.

“How we need another soul to cling to, another body to keep us warm. To rest and trust; to give your soul in confidence: I need this, I need someone to pour myself into.”

“Can you understand? Someone, somewhere, can you understand me a little, love me a little? For all my despair, for all my ideals, for all that ― I love life. But it is hard, and I have so much ― so very much to learn.” The Journals of Sylvia Plath

“I am learning how to compromise the wild dream ideals and the necessary realities without such screaming pain.” Journals 1953

“And when at last you find someone to whom you feel you can pour out your soul, you stop in shock at the words you utter — they are so rusty, so ugly, so meaningless and feeble from being kept in the small cramped dark inside you so long.” ― The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath

“I wish to cry. Yet, I laugh, and my lipstick leaves a red stain like a bloody crescent moon on top of the beer can.” ― The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath

“Is it impossible for you to let something go and have it go whole?” – from ‘A Birthday Present’

“I thought the most beautiful thing in the world must be shadow.” ― The Bell Jar

Leave a comment

Filed under Poems, Quotations

Leave a Reply

